Shedding Light on an Awesome Character #2: Ezra, Project X

Hello there, folks! Today we’ll continue our mini-series on Project X, a character study on all the main characters of my current WIP. I’ve made a list of all the posts you can expect from this series, studying:

Ky

Ezra

Vyrn

Aryanna

Felindor

Shadow

Fingers(J’nali)

And, last but not least, Ivanna.

div

So, now that we have all that cleared up, we’ll get to the questions. (Ezra, that’s your cue.)

NOTE: My words are in Italic.

d

  1. What’s your name and how old are you?

*puts feet on table* I’m Ezra, son of Malcom and Ursa, and I’m sixteen, if you can believe that.

You are so easy-going I don’t know what to do with you. And get your feet off my table! You’re scratching the wood.

Calm down, it’s not like I’m wearing boots. *sits up with a long-suffering groan*

2. Did you have a happy childhood? Why or why not?

Oh, sure. It wasn’t that bad. My parents died in the plague fifteen years ago, and I didn’t ever know ’em cause I was just a kid. I mean, I follow the rules and laws and all, so I’ve never gotten into much trouble. The only one’s I break are when I steal bread, but the guards don’t really care about that. They’re so lazy, I’d be amazed if they chased me for stealing something right under their noses.

3. What do you care about?

Eating. Sleeping. Following Varhan’s rules, whether I like it or not. Being warm. Etc.

Goodie too-shoos.

Ya, ya, so I follow the rules. Why shouldn’t I? I don’t care who rules the West. It doesn’t matter to me whether Varhan or the Governor enforces rules. I’d still be in the same place, either way. All I care is that food gets to my mouth occasionally, okay?

That’s going to change.

Uh-huh. In your dreams. No matter what happens, it doesn’t change the fact that I’m an orphan. I’ve got no home, no family, no where to go. You think the Governor will change that? No. You think Varhan’ll change that? No. They don’t care about us. All they care about is power, and money. They could care less if I starve in the streets. And you can’t do a thing about that.

Actually……ya, I can. But it doesn’t happen easily. It takes a while to write. But sure, go on believing that. It’ll make the story all the more interesting.

4. What is something you avoid doing at all costs? Why?

Breaking a rule. I only steal bread when I have to, because otherwise, I’ll starve. The other times, I work and earn everything I eat. After all, why shouldn’t I follow the rules? Sure, you hear of all those “heroic” people who stand up to Varhan and the guards. You know what happens to them? Guards come, and they ‘disappear’, never to be seen again. I have no wish to follow them.

I think you need a little adventure. Perhaps traipsing all over the west would help? Oh, we could even do it on a griffon! With Varhan’s elite soldier’s chasing us?

5.What scares you?

The fact that nothing is ever going to change, no matter what we do. Varhan is simply to strong, and even if we did manage to overthrow him, who would rule the West? The crown prince disappeared almost twenty years ago.

To true, to true. (I really made you good at speeches, didn’t I? Passion is a wonderful thing. Now if only you would use it!)

6. What do you look like?(Please describe)

*awkward moment* Uh…..I’ve got red hair?

Elaborate.

*smacks forehead* Look at these pictures. The Penmaster hired one of her realm-leaping friends again, snapping photos of me.

They work…but they’re not all cool as this GIF of Ky that I found…..take a look.

tumblr_o2ticnyXHI1v6b8s6o1_500.gif

This is so cool….but Ky is always cool. I mean, he can like, bend fire or whatever, and then he’s all mysterious, and stubborn, and he won’t talk….

Ky: I talk just fine!

Sure, sure you do. You’re such a….a…introverted extrovert!

*Ky and Ezra stare at me* What????

Never mind.

7. Why are you helping the rebel cause?

Well…I didn’t sign up for this mess, if you know what I mean. I’ve got a problem with eavesdropping, (or at least people say I do) and I just happened to eavesdrop on a very important conversation of Ky and Felindor’s. So they literally kidnapped me(no kidding, he hit me over the head with one of his cool dual sword things) and forced me to join his crew. After a while, I just decided I couldn’t leave, cause if I did, these two over here *gestures to Aryanna and Ky* would get into an argument and kill each other. Then we wouldn’t have a rebel cause any more.

*Aryanna and Ky glare at him.* We do not argue!

Ya, and I don’t have red hair.

I โค sarcasm…..even though Ezra is the sort of comic relief, he’s not very good at sarcasm, except on certain occasions, like the above.

Ky: I don’t argue! She does!

Aryanna: I do not argue! It’s all you!

Ezra: Guys, can we sort this out–

Ky and Aryanna together: No!

*back to arguing*

We should probably leave them alone for a while.

div

So, what do you think of Ezra? He’s kind of my funny, passionate, kind guy who always tries to do the right thing, and by doing so, clashes with Ky and even Aryanna a lot. But, he’s got a good heart in him, and that’ll help them a bit.

sa

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Shedding Light on an Awesome Character #2: Ezra, Project X

I <3 comments! Please be respectful of others and of Jesus Christ with your language. God Bless, Sarah :)

