Penny’s New Beginning Blog Tour

Penny's New Beginning Graphic

Today I’m going to be sharing with you an amazing book by an awesome author, Anika Joy! Be sure to check it out on amazon, here. The blog tour started on March 21, and ends March 23.

For my part, I’ll be giving a book review, a spotlight, and an author interview.


Untitled

pnb-cover
Isn’t the cover awesome?!

Nine-year-old Penny Hearting has just moved to Nassau with her family and is completely convinced that a mermaid rescued her from drowning – but, no one believes her. So, she takes matters into her own hands and goes on a search for the mermaid that rescued her.

Ten-year-old Emmy is the princess of Utopia, an underwater city populated by mermaids. But, when her evil aunt, Cassandra, takes the city from her father, the King, her only option is to seek help from the girl whom she rescued.

When these two lives collide, can they and another friend save their homes from disaster?

 


new

51xvzcoqxhl-_uy200_

Anika Joy is a daughter, sister, and child of the one true King. She loves to write books, sing in choir, and cook meals for her family.
At the age of 4 she learned how to read, she and wrote her first short story when she was 8. That story was later published in a kid’s magazine when she was 11, which sparked her dream of becoming a published author. Anika is now very happy to see that dream come true.
Anika currently lives with her two sisters, two brothers, and parents in North Dakota, and feels very blessed to be awaiting the arrival of another sibling.

/Blog/Goodreads/Pinterest/Twitter/


new

What inspired you to write this?
 
I was nine years old when I wrote this book, and I honestly don’t remember very well. I had wanted to practice writing more. My favorite movie back then was The Little Mermaid, so I think it was partly that movie. 😉
 
What was it like to finish your FIRST book and publish it?
 

It felt AMAZING to finish my first book…and, publishing? Well, that was scary. I’ve felt like a fish out of water doing this whole thing and am glad it is finally over. I can’t wait to publish again, but I hope I will know more about what to do next time. 😃

What was the hardest part of writing/publishing this novella?

The hardest part was formatting. I tried SO hard to do it on my own, but finally just broke down and bought a template (best decision of my life, BTW).

And last but not least, what is your favorite part about being an author?

Getting to share my stories with the whole, definitely. It’s an amazing way (besides blogging) to share the gospel (although this isn’t a Christian book) and reach out to people all over the world.


new1

As I promised, now it’s time for my review. First off, I just want to congratulate Anika for finishing and publishing her first book. Great job girl! *claps* Give yourself a round of applause. Finishing, publishing(and not to mention formatting) are hard tasks and you did them very well.

I liked this book a lot, even though it’s for a younger age group than I usually read, it was very well written and I liked the characters. The plot was a little bit fast, but considering it’s a novella, I don’t mind that. I do wish I could have gotten to know the characters a little bit better, but again, I did really like the plot and the writing.

Penny’s New Beginning is a very charming and cute book, and I think it fits it’s age group perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to any of my siblings(which usually don’t read much) and I think they would like it very much. In all, it’s fun to read, and over all, it is a wonderful book that I think many will look forward to reading and love.

Great job Anika!

stars

Thanks,

Sarah

monogram

 

12 thoughts on “Penny’s New Beginning Blog Tour

  1. Great interview and review! I’m going to have to read this book soon … it sounds really interesting, though I don’t usually read children’s fiction anymore. But I really should … I miss reading books written for an age a little bit younger than me. And mermaids … I like mermaids. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I <3 comments! Please be respectful of others and of Jesus Christ with your language. God Bless, Sarah :)

